Sunday, June 1, 2008

33rd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference

Commemorative Issue of Postage Stamps to Mark the 33rd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference

Date of Issue: 1987-09-01
Denominations: 20 cents, and $1.00
Stamp Size: 31.5 mm x 48 mm
Paper: SPM Watermarked, phosphor coated
Printing Process: Lithography
Printer: Security Printers (M) Sdn. Bhd. Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Sheet Composition: 50 stamps
Designer: Raja Zahabuddin R. Yaacob

Stamps in the Series:

First Day Cover:

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is an association comprising of Commonwealth Parliamentarians who, irrespective of race, religion or culture, are united by community interest, respect for the rule of law, individual rights and freedom, and the pursuit of positive ideals of parliamentary democracy.

The CPA provides the sole means of regular consultation between Members of Commonwealth Parliaments. It seeks to foster understanding and cooperation among them and also to promote the study of and respect for parliamentary institution. It pursues these objectives by means of Annual Commonwealth Parliamentary Conferences and regional conferences, the interchange of delegation, seminars, publications, notably The Parliamentarian and two Newsletters on CPA activities, parliamentary and political events, and through the work of the Parliamentary Information and Reference Center.

The Malaysia Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was established arising from a resolution of the Federal Legislative Council on 19th April 1950. As is the case in other Commonwealth countries which practice the Federation system, all State Legislative Assemblies of the various States in Malaysia are State Branches of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

The 33rd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference to be held in Kuala Lumpur from 26th August to 6th September 1987 is the third CPA Conference being hosted by Malaysia. Malaysia played host for the first time in 1963 when the 9th CPA Conference was held in Kuala Lumpur. Malaysia had the honor of hosting the CPA Conference for the second time when the 17th CPA Conference was held in Kuala Lumpur.

About 350 participants including delegates, their spouses, observers and secretaries are expected to attend the 33rd CPA Conference. Before the conference, participants will be taken on pre-conference tours to Penang, Pangkor Island (Perak), Malacca, Kuantan (Pahang), Kota Bharu (Kelantan), Kuala Terengganu (Terengganu), Kota Kinabalu (Sabah), Kuching (Sarawak) and Johore. They will also witness the 30th Anniversary National Day celebrations to be held on 31st August 1987. The 33rd CPA Conference will be opened by the Rt. Hon. Dato’ Seri Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, the Prime Minister of Malaysia on Tuesday, 1st September 1987 at the Dewan Rakyat, Parliament House.

No comments: